Webinar: Environmental Impact Assessment in South East Asia - A Comparative Analysis

We would like to invite you this coming 24 April 2021 where our very own Matthew Baird, Environmental Law and Governance Expert will be discussing Environmental Impact Assessment in South East Asia.

The webinar will examined environmental and social safeguards through the EIA process looking at the ten ASEAN member states. 

Matthew Baird has over 30 years of experience in environmental and planning law in Australia and Asia. Since being called to the New South Wales Bar in 1991, Matthew has been at the forefront of environmental litigation in Australia. Since 2014 he has been an advisor on EIA and environmental law to the Myanmar Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation (MONREC). He was an advisor and Member of the Permanent Secretariat of the Technical Working Group for Cambodian Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment (MONRE) from 2013-2018 for the drafting of an new EIA Law for Cambodia and then the drafting of the Environmental Code of Cambodia. 

Matthew has also been the key advisor to the UN Environment Programme and the ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR) on the proposal for an ASEAN framework agreement on EIA to promote a more rights-based approach to development within ASEAN. He has presented at three AICHR workshops and has drafted two major comparative reviews of EIA law and practice within ASEAN. This followed the work done with PACT Mekong Partnership on the Environment (MPE) in developing Guidelines for Public Participation in EUA in the Mekong Region.

Times

The session will commence at 5pm Bangkok/Jakarta/Hanoi/Vientiane/Phnom Penh Time

For reference this is:
8pm Brisbane Time,
6pm Beijing/Manila/Singapore/Kuala Lumpur Time.
4.30pm Yangon time
3.30pm India Standard Time

Registration

Please register using the following link:
https://adb-org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJEsc-yspjksHd2TaCQxtk3fziYUN6O4tr4s