People’s Republic of China (PRC)

The PRC is situated in East Asia and is the most populous country in the world.   It exercises jurisdiction over 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four direct-controlled municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, and Chongqing), and two mostly self-governing special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macau).  The PRC is ranked as the 4th largest country in the world by total area.    Bordering 14 nations,  it extends across much of East Asia; bordering Vietnam, Laos and Myanmar in Southeast Asia; India, Bhutan, Nepal, Afghanistan, and Pakistan in South Asia; Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan in Central Asia; and Russia, Mongolia, and North Korea in Inner Asia and Northeast Asia. In addition, China shares maritime boundaries with South Korea, Japan, Vietnam, and the Philippines.

The PRC is one of 17 mega diverse countries, lying in two of the world's major ecozones: the Palearctic and the Indomalaya. In recent decades, PRC has suffered from severe environmental deterioration and pollution. In response to the enormous pollution problem, the PRC government has undertaken a number of measures to curb pollution in the country and improve its environmental situation.  On 1 January 2015, China’s amended Environmental Protection Law  came into force.  The newly amended law provides harsher penalties against polluters and greater power for environmental protection authorities.